The Surface Versus Subsurface Divide

Ecological No-Go Zones

Overview of BC Law

Under Canada’s National Parks Act,151 mining is prohibited in national parks. In BC, this means no mining activities can be carried out in:

  • Glacier National Park of Canada;
  • Gulf Islands National Park Reserve of Canada;
  • Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve and Haida Heritage Site;
  • Kootenay National Park of Canada;
  • Mount Revelstoke National Park of Canada;
  • Pacific Rim National Park Reserve of Canada; or
  • Yoho National Park of Canada.

In addition to the national parks, BC’s legislated two-zone system expressly restricts mining activities in the following ecological areas:152

  • areas in which mining is prohibited under the Environment and Land Use Act;
  • Crown lands designated under section 93.1 of the Land Act;
  • parks & conservancies under the Park Act;
  • regional parks under the Local Government Act;
  • park or ecological reserves under the Protected Areas of British Columbia Act; and
  • ecological reserves under the Ecological Reserve Act.

Learn About Mining

Problems and Solutions


A Community Resource